Daymakers

I had been patient… Which is not always a gift of mine…

I was waiting to pull out of a Panera Bread and after about 10 minutes of inching out at a safe distance from the cars in the long drive through line, I decided to get out of my car and ask people if they could not go forward so I could back out.

The first person I tried to ask wouldn’t even lower his window. He sign-languaged me that he was on his phone and that he would not talk to me.

The second person I at least got to talk to briefly… I asked and she said, “No, I am in the drive through line.”

But there is hope for humanity. The third person I asked was phenomenal! She smiled as she rolled down her window.

She asked, “how can I help you?”

As I explained my situation, she said “I tell you what, I will just stay right here as the cars move forward. That will give you all kinds of space… you can back right up, and finally be on your way!”

I said, “thank you so much, you have made my day!

As I backed up, she stuck her hand and head out of her window, waved to me and yelled, “Have a great day!”

She was a superhero to me today, with her super powers of generous grace, kindness, and joy-filled service.

She did a simple, small thing… that others would not do… and the small thing she did, with her great attitude, made my day.

‘DayMakers’ are generous people who look out for the needs of others, and are available to help them out. They look beyond themselves and make generous offerings of their time, talents, and finances.

The Apostle Paul wrote to the believers in Philippi about these kinds of mindsets as actions… 

“Therefore if you have any encouragement from being united with Christ, if any comfort from his love, if any common sharing in the Spirit, if any tenderness and compassion, 2 then make my joy complete by being like-minded, having the same love, being one in spirit and of one mind. 3 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, 4 not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”

(Philippians 2:1-4 NIV)

Paul says that the quality of our lives in the midst of a scarcity-fear-and-self-centered-based world is to flip that model on its head… and to generously make a difference in peoples’ lives for the reign and rule of God.

How does my opening parking lot story, and the words of Paul encourage and challenge you today? Here are a few thoughts and questions for folks like us to consider on the way to THE EXTRAORDINARY…

  1. Who… has been a ‘DayMaker’ in your life?
  1. What… BIG and little things did they do for you that made a difference in your day?
  1. To whom… have you been a ‘DayMaker’ in the last six to eight weeks?
  1. DayMakers… live lives of radical generosity, serving people in every way they can, to advance God’s Kingdom of hope and love.
  1. How can you… build a life of generous ‘DayMaker-faith’… giving to people in the little and the BIG ways to make a difference in their lives?

THE EXTRAORDINARY LIFE is a life of Radical 

Generosity. Our world thrives on scarcity, fear, and narcissism, but we live our lives as ‘DayMakers’… Making peoples’ days in little and BIG ways of Generous Blessings.

Radical and Generous Faith are the blessings we get to offer in GOD’S GREAT ADVENTURE for our lives. 

‘DayMakers’ live in simple and radical ways to bless people, and to forge forward against the pessimism and faithlessness of our cultures to transform lives, cultures, and our world.

So, as you consider a life of Generous and Radical Faith in the little and the BIG ways, a great place to start can be the Steward’s Prayer…

God’s richest blessings to you today as you live towards

THE EXTRAORDINARY LIFE God has for you!

With God,

And with each other,

We can!

Trash Cans and Grocery Carts The Extraordinary Life

THE EXTRAORDINARY LIFE is a life of Valiant and Courageous Service… in the mundane, little things that others may not or will not do… but we choose to do because of the grace and purpose that is alive in us as God’s people.
  1. Trash Cans and Grocery Carts
  2. Liberating Generosity
  3. $15,000 ‘Right Here’
  4. Thrifting and Connecting
  5. Love Letter Leaves

We want to help you win. We believe God came to show us a life model of love, mercy, grace and celebration.  We want to help folks like us to live into the fullest power of freedom and life. 

If you’d like to learn more about strategies to bring the  Steward Leader message to your communities please reach out to us at info@stewardleader.org


Join us in expanding the message of Biblical Stewardship around the world!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started